A Short Poem

I was standing on the beach January just gone by. The sea rough and churning . I stood so that wavelets wet the tips of my hiking boots . Afterwards in the warmth of the pub, I wrote this poem :

TERRIFYINGLY GENTLE

The untamed Atlantic
Creeps across the flat sands
And caresses my boot
With a terrifying gentleness.
Retreats, almost shyly, apologetically,
But returns seconds later
More insistent and brazen.
I step back from its awesome power.

(c) Billy Dunphy 19/01/2015

3 Comments Add yours

    1. queasypaddy says:

      Yes it is certainly awesome and needs to be treated with a lot of respect !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. true!

        Hey I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to invite you to my blog at http://www.insanitybeautiful.wordpress.com

        Like

Leave a Reply

