THE POET’S WORD

THE POET’S WORD

Now,
For the poet the word is king.
Not only heard and spoken and seen,
But  touched, tasted and savoured
All in equal measure.

Emotion’s food !
Spirit’s nourishment!
Food for feelings!

I know a poet
Who, when he was small,
Threw a ball
Against a wall
Because he loved
The word :

-PARABOLA-

By doing that
He saw and felt and heard
The word.
The word became
Real, you see.

Oh how that little boy
Loved the way
The word made him feel !

Texting one time,
I wanted to say to her
“ It’s wonderful ! “
However predictive text
Gave me,
In a fat finger moment,
The word:

-WOMBWELL-

It was perfect!
I rejoiced in it!
Swallowed it whole!
I have sung it to myself
For weeks now.
Reveling in its beauty
And accidental rightness!
Examining its myriad meanings!

Like a child with a new toy,
I love the way
The word made me feel!

( c )  Billy Dunphy   13/03/15

Leave a Reply

