on being told he’s a poet of the people .

if you’re going to
write me a poem
don’t  mystify it
with fucking
classical references
that I don’t understand
don’t force me
to fucking study
classic greek and roman mythologies
to understand you
don’t tie me in knots
with fucking
empty verbosity
and convoluted phrases
I don’t carry a
fucking Oxford
fucking dictionary
in my back
fucking pocket
keep it simple and
hit me straight
between the fucking eyes
with words
simple to understand
and with a message that
even a fucking peasant
like me
can be
blown away by.

( c ) Billy Dunphy  23/03/15

About queasypaddy

I am a musician, sometime poet and songwriter, a budding artist and a separated, retired primary school teacher, in a happy relationship which is caring, sharing and supportive.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

