I will not think of you as gone

I read this poem first thing this morning. I was blown away by it because my sister went last year and I can only think of her as gone. So, as you can imagine, I was intrigued by the title, as it is the total opposite of what I feel.
The beauty of the poem floored me. Every line, every image resonated with me deeply. It’s truth is true.
We who are living wait to be reunited with our loved ones.
Thank you Thomas.
https://tomqhill.wordpress.com

Thomas

I will not think of you as gone
For each dawn would be less
Keep you close in my
memories
I will not think of you as gone
Your laughter will sing in windy days
Your stubbornness be midnight’s storms
I will not think of you as gone
Simple joy in your eyes
The pleasure of your smile
I will not think of you as gone
brief time you had here
Brought something to my soul
I will not think of you as gone
But a part of me will change
My tears will stop, in time
I will NOT think of you as gone
But as waiting
To guide me
I await that day, as it arrives
Look for me, as I look for you

View original post

About queasypaddy

I am a musician, sometime poet and songwriter, a budding artist and a separated, retired primary school teacher, in a happy relationship which is caring, sharing and supportive.
This entry was posted in My word !, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

